A reminder of what can happen: sleeping at the wheel

[tweetmeme]This was forwarded to me by a good friend, and I wanted to share it with all of you.

This accident occurred north of Deer Lodge on I-90 (Idaho). The driver was appx 22 year old guy heading east to College. He had left central Washington early in the morning. He fell asleep at the wheel and drifted off the shoulder hitting the end of the section of guard rail.

The guard rail came through the right headlight, engine compartment, firewall, glove box, passenger seat, rear seat and exited out the driver’s side rear window. That is 120 LF of guard rail that threaded through the suburban.

No passengers and the driver was not injured.

I am sharing this as a reminder to all about NOT driving when you shouldn’t be behind the wheel (drinking, texting, distracted or just plain tired).

Comments

  1. I’m sorry I couldn’t find an e mail contact for you. These photos are so impactful I was wondering if I could have permission to use them in a presentation for a safety meeting I am organizing at my workplace. You can contact me via the e mail address I provided. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

